"The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life."                 

                                    Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.March 2017

Learning at nursery is encouraged through indoor and outdoor play experiences and encompasses all areas of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).


There are 7 areas of learning and development within the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum. The 3 prime areas are:

* Communication and language

* Physical development

* Personal, social and emotional development

There are a further 4 specific areas, through which the 3 prime areas are strengthened and applied. These are:

* Literacy

* Mathematics

* Understanding of the world

* Expressive arts and design

What to expect, when?

The 'What to expect, when?' parents' guide has been written to help you as a parent/carer find out more about how your child is learning and developing during their first five years, in relation to the EYFS. It refers to skills and behaviours that you may notice your child  exhibiting between the ages of 0-5 years and it suggests a variety of different activities that you can do to help with your child's learning and development. Click here to see the What to expect, when guide.